GOVERNANCE STRUCTURE



President Willis K. "Rick" Samson, PhD, DSc, FAPS **President-elect** Timothy Musch, PhD, FAPS, FACSM Past President Dee U. Silverthorn, PhD, FAPS, FAAA, FAAAS **Secretary and Executive Director** Scott Steen, CAE, FASAE **EXECUTIVE CABINET**



STANDING COMMITTEES

(AS DEFINED BY BYLAWS)

Center for Physiology Education Advisory Board Chair: Terry Sweeney, PhD, FAPS Staff Liasion: Margaret Shain Stieben, MSEd

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee

Chair: Karla Haack, PhD

Staff Liasion: Brooke Bruthers

Finance Committee

Chair: Paul Welling, MD Staff Liasion: Julie Fortenbery, CPA

Program Working Group

Chair: Kirsteen Browning, PhD Staff Liasion: Linda Allen

Publications Committee

Chair: Wolfgang M. Kuebler, MD, PhD, FAPS Staff Liasion: Colette Bean

Science Policy Committee

Chair: Katherine Wilkinson, PhD Staff Liasion: Rebecca Osthus, PhD

Section Advisory Committee Chair: Scott Kirkton, PhD, FAPS Staff Liasion: Brooke Bruthers



OPERATING COMMITTEES

APS Fellows Committee

Chair: Irene Solomon, PhD, FAPS Council Liaison: Evangeline Motley-Johnson, PhD Staff Liaison: Scarletta Whitsett

Animal Care & Experimentation Committee

Chair: Corey Reynolds, PhD Council Liaison: Michael Caplan, MD, PhD, FAPS Staff Liaison: Alissa Hatfield

Awards Committee

Chair: Usha Raj, MD, MHA, FAPS Council Liaison: Evangeline Motley-Johnson, PhD Staff Liaison: Scarletta Whitsett

Career Opportunities in Physiology Committee Chair: Josef Brandauer, PhD

Council Liaison: Karla Haack, PhD Staff Liaison: Margaret Shain Stieben, MSEd

Chapter Advisory Committee

Chair: Naveen Sharma, PhD Council Liaison: Gina Yosten, PhD Staff Liaison: Nicole Edmund

Committee on Committees

Chair: Heddwen Brooks, PhD Staff Liaison: Sandra Spadoni

Conference Committee

Chair: Jane Reckelhoff, PhD, FAPS Council Liaison: Margarita Curras-Collazo, PhD, FAPS Staff Liaison: Linda Allen

International Committee

Chair: Thiago Moriera, DDS, PhD Council Liaison: Heddwen Brooks, PhD Staff Liaison: Sandra Spadoni

Nominating Committee

Chair: Past President Staff Liaison: Sandra Spadoni

Physiologists in Industry Committee

Chair: Craig Plato, PhD Council Liaison: Nisha Charkoudian, PhD Staff Liaison: Jacob White

Trainee Advisory Committee

Chair: Melinda Engevik, PhD Council Liaison: Nisha Charkoudian, PhD Staff Liaison: Brooke Bruthers

Women in Physiology Committee

Chair: Kedra Wallace, PhD Council Liaison: Lacy Alexander, PhD, FACSM, FAPS Staff Liaison: Brooke Bruthers



SECTION STEERING COMMITTEES



SECTIONS

Cardiovascular Section Chair: Farah Sheikh, PhD Cell & Molecular Physiology Section Chair: Sandrine Pierre, PhD **Central Nervous System Section**

Comparative & Evolutionary Section

Chair: Lynn Hartzler, PhD Endocrinology & Metabolism Section Chair: Licy Yanes Cardozo, MD

Chair: Gene Bidwell, III, PhD

Environmental & Exercise Section Chair: David Poole, PhD, DSc

Gastrointestinal & Liver Section Chair: Pradeep Dudeja, PhD

Neural Control & Autonomic Regulation Section Chair: Kamal Rahmouni, PhD

Renal Section

Chair: Robert Fenton, PhD

Respiration Section

Chair: Christopher Waters, PhD, FAPS

Teaching of Physiology Section Chair: Alice Villalobos, PhD

Water & Electrolyte Homeostasis Section Chair: Kathryn Sandberg, PhD



INTEREST GROUP STEERING COMMITTEES



INTEREST GROUPS

Epithelial Transport Interest Group
Chair: Arohan Subramanya, MD
History of Physiology Interest Group
Chair: Jessica Ibarra, PhD
Hypoxia Interest Group
Chair: Kevin J. Cummings, PhD

Muscle Biology Interest Group Chair: Joseph Brozinick, PhD

Nutrition Physiology Research Interest Group Chair: Jamie Baum. PhD

Physiological -Omics Interest Group

Chair: Tzongshi Lu, PhD Sex/Gender Research Interest Group

Chair: Mark K. Santillan, MD, PhD

Translational Physiology Interest Group Chair: Julie Freed, MD, PhD